Seven Wonders is brilliant. Yes, brilliant. Each new scene brings about something that made me want to stand up and shout BRILLIANT! – like that idiotic Guinness commercial. Mishaps with new found powers like X-ray vision and dribbles of information about a super villain known as “Red Tape”, who wrecks bureaucratic havoc, left me smiling from ear to ear. The small plot blurb on Angry Robot’s  web page doesn’t do this book justice. There is so much more to Seven Wonders than a simple turf war between the superheroes and the new kid on the block, so much I didn’t think was even possible to fit inside the pages of one book. This was one of two books I was highly anticipating reading and so I set the bar pretty high. All I can say is that Seven Wonders went way beyond my wildest expectations.

The ease in which Adam Christopher switches from the mind of one character to another is uncanny. I’m not sure what it is exactly about Seven Wonders that captivated me so completely, whether it was the realism or the young child in me that wishes superheroes do exist. But it’s been a long time since I enjoyed taking my sweet time and digging into the story as much as I did with this.  The novel reads like a cinematic masterpiece flashing before your unblinking eyes, lest you miss a single moment of this superhero charged saga. The only way to describe Seven Wonders is by imagining the best superhero movie you can possibly fathom, times that by twenty and then let the story play out in high definition 3D inside your dazzled mind.

Peeking around at other review sites, The Founding Fields and Book Snobbery, I echo the sentiment with how spectacular this book truly is. I hate jumping on band wagons but it’s simply impossible not to be onboard this roller coaster that only goes skyward without stopping from start to finish.

I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t read any of Adam’s previous work and I’ll definitely be keeping my eyes peeled for a copy of Empire State. This is going to be one those books you proudly display on the top of your bookshelf and show off to all your friends or inform them of how stupid they are for not reading it already. If you miss out on ordering the limited edition signed hardcover you’ll be kicking yourself square in the face later. I feel like I’m tripping over my own feet but I can’t find enough wonderful things to say about this book, no, not a book, but a piece of superhero history in the making. I wouldn’t be surprised at all to see a rising trend in superhero novels after this one hits the market. 9 out of 10 Liams for the best cover to cover book I’ve read this year. I expect it to be up for some awards shortly.

You can find Adam’s blog HERE.

Many Thanks to Angry Robot Publishing for providing me with this eARC.

I’ll be anxiously waiting for a contender to try and knock this one out of my top spot for novel of the year.

 

Comments
  1. Zoe says:

    Yay! This is next on my list 🙂
    I lOVED Empire State and this one sounds even better. Excited much! 🙂

  2. […] the early reviews are still coming in. The Troubled Scribe said Seven Wonders is “brilliant” and went on to say: The novel reads like a cinematic […]

Leave a Reply

