Geologist Graham Trevennan reminds me of the character Leonard Hofstadter from the T.V. series The Big Bang Theory. An unexpected package delivered to Graham is puzzling, especially when two goons show up immediately after the delivery then hold Graham at gunpoint, demanding the package. Graham doesn’t realize what he has gotten into just yet, but I’m betting that when he woke up that morning he wasn’t expecting to unravel a possible alien apocalypse.

In A Jar of Wasps, Luis Villazon’s writing and geological knowledge, whether accurate or false, is breathtaking and somewhat overwhelming at the same time. Turns out that the package is actually an alien artifact and pretty soon it’s not going to be the only one of its kind. Both Villazon’s geological expertise and this alien artifact come together artfully in this “Geo-Sci-Fi-Thriller”.

Graham is dragged around by the astonishingly beautiful Seraphina. She is the brawn to his brains and when the story finally unfolds in its entirety I’m convinced she is the craziest character in the book. Seraphina needs Graham so they can piece together a complete alien, or fallen angel as she thinks of them, artifact and then somehow use this to contact the extraterrestrials. Nuts right? Just wait until you find out why she wants to do this. Graham is too much of a scientific geek and wimp to say no or do anything but quietly follow in her footsteps.

There is one scene in this book that I hate, I mean I really, really hate. While being chased by the same two previously mentioned goons, (known in the story as Ponytail and Cufflinks by Graham) Graham is thrust out of the car by Seraphina, given some items and told to meet up with her back at her house where he has never been before. At this point Graham is freezing, exhausted, starving, and completely lost. But wait, miracle of all miracles, the house Graham just so happens to break into out of all the other houses in the entire world just happens to be exactly the house he needed to be at to rendezvous with Seraphina. What are the odds of that? As I said, I hate this part.

My little rant aside, the book reads extremely fast. I actually can’t believe how quickly I finished it. The entire story is somewhat humorously suspenseful as we try to figure out what the aliens might actually be up to and Graham the main character is certainly a funny and engaging character to follow around.

I wish a few plot lines could have played out differently. I found the “Bad Guys” and their connection with Seraphina a little off kilter. I absolutely love the connection between the book’s title and the Aliens; it is genius and a fresh take on these particular extraterrestrials. The ending isn’t at all what I expected and for some reason it’s extremely memorable to me. I enjoyed it immensely.

On a whole I would give A Jar of Wasps 7 out of 10 Liams. If I graded the story solely by its premise alone, I would have given it an 8 or maybe even a 9 but the unlikely connections within the book downgraded the Liams this time. I’m also a little disappointed with some of the loose strands at the end, but they do leave open the possibility of a sequel.

You can find Luis Villazon Here.

Thanks to Andy Remic and Anarchy Books for my review copy.

I’ll be digging into Serial Killers Incorporated by Mr. Remic, himself, next, another Anarchy Book.

Leave a Reply

