So I entered some silly, fun, Twitter contest put on by Marcus Gipps and won an intriguingly titled book called Throne of the Crescent Moon, written by Saladin Ahmed whose name I’m scared to speak out loud for fear of insulting him and his ancestors with my butchered mispronunciation. Needless to say this silly little contest provided me with a book that turned out to be a world beater that is so masterfully written that right now it is my favorite book of the year so far.

So my recommendation? If I can only get you to read one book this entire year, Throne of the Crescent Moon is it. Saladin Ahmed has filled this book full of characters brimming with vitality and potential. For example, Doctor Adoulla Makhslood is a ghul hunter, one of the few remaining in Dhamsawaat and this fat man is possibly the city’s only hope for surviving the coming apocalypse.

Doctor Adoulla Makhslood is accompanied by his faithful assistant, Raseed bas Raseed, a holy warrior whose only fear is dishonoring his god and Zamia Badawi a young tribeswoman blessed with the ability to shape-shift into a lion. Saladin switches viewpoints periodically throughout the chapters and the connection he creates between the reader and all of his characters is mind boggling. I think I’ve finally found a book where I actually feel something for the majority of characters and for me that is a rarity.

I think what first grabbed my attention from the very beginning in this book was the simple opening scene of Adoulla sitting down and inhaling the aroma of his morning tea while relishing in the teeming city life of his beloved Dhamsawaat. It’s such a basic, every-day-act but Saladin wrote it so perfectly I can’t get the image of the fat doctor and his bleached white robes out of my head. The same goes for the rest of the book.

The Falcon Prince leading an uprising and a newly anointed Khalif only interested in his own majesty are the least of Adoulla and his friends’ problems, until they all come to a junction of nuclear proportions.

I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough in this one and once I finished, I was kicking myself for not lingering longer in the fantastic story. Throne of the Crescent Moon is by far the best written story I’ve read this year, even outstripping Seven Wonders by Adam Christopher which was excellent in its own way. 9 out of 10 Liams to this book and I can only end this by saying it’s in a league all its own. The writing is just phenomenal.

Thanks again to Marcus Gipps for allowing me the opportunity to win this book.

Comments
  1. Redhead says:

    Wasn’t Throne of the Crescent Moon just wonderful? I read it a few months ago and fell in love with the story. I just heard that Ahmed has an e-book available of a ton of his short fiction, including a few short stories that connect with this novel. i guess i better get an e-reader! and it’s Sallah-DEEN Ah-med. easy. 🙂

  2. MrsWarHammer says:

    I adored this one too, such a beautiful read! Something very out-of-the-ordinary, a real treasure 🙂

Leave a Reply

