Liam Reviews “The Hobbit”

Posted: December 16, 2012 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m sure with The Hobbit movie recently out in theatres, many fans will hunt down the book in its original form for a quick reread (much like myself) and for the younger individuals who have yet to get a taste of Tolkien’s Hobbit they are in for a wondrous surprise. It was ages ago that I first picked up a dusty torn copy of The Hobbit (by recommendation of my parents) and started to read it on a long road trip into the Colorado mountains. Many years have passed and much has changed since then but upon revisiting this book I realize that the magic that enchanted me and captured my imagination as a young kid all those years ago still remains firmly the same within these pages. Tolkien’s voice is nothing short of masterful with his simplistic style, but his words and prose weave a colorful tale of wonder that is rarely matched by the authors of today.

It amuses me to reread this tale because I’m instantly reminded by how much I had forgotten, so many crucial details in its telling. For instance, the fact that Biblo was originally taken on as a “Burglar” had completely slipped my mind, hundreds of Warg chase the fourteen companions up trees (which I can’t wait to see how the film makers adapt this into the movie), also their encounter of Beorn! These early struggles are just the very tip of the iceberg within The Hobbit. Also, I either forgot or failed to realize how epic some of the songs and poems that Tolkien incorporates into this book really are – another thing to take note of in the upcoming film.

I find the nuances Tolkien uses in both The Hobbit and his Lord of the Rings trilogy repetitive. The initial Gandalf comes with a quest, the road ahead is filled with peril, when all seems lost in its darkest hour a hero must step forward, a battle of epic proportions, (Eagles), and the long weary trek home of heroes sadly parting ways, forever changed from that which they used to be. While repetitive, one must acknowledge that this “map to success” in writing these novels worked out brilliantly for Tolkien in creating some of the most Epic Fantasy novels world wild. Tolkien’s Middle Earth has lived on prosperously long after his death and most likely mine as well.

To give this book anything less than 10 out of 10 Liams is a disgrace to Tolkien’s writing career and in fact I probably shouldn’t even give a rating to a classic such as this even if it is a positive one. So I’ve been there and back again multiple times with Bilbo Baggins and hopefully when my Liam is a little older he will tread on that same path that Bilbo and I traveled on together. All I need now is to find a babysitter so I can go watch the movie!

Comments

Leave a Reply

