It is really hard to write a review on a book that already has so many excellent reviews previously penned about it by hundreds of fantastic reviewers around the world. So for Nexus, since I’m so far delayed in writing this, I’m going to try and make this review a bit more personal. I actually had some fears walking into reading this book after finding out some information about  author, Ramez Naam. Just take a look at his “about” page, HERE.  The man is scary brilliant, and it made me think twice about how Nexus sounded from the write up:

“In the near future, the experimental nano-drug Nexus can link humans together, mind to mind. There are some who want to improve it. There are some who want to eradicate it. And there are others who just want to exploit it.

When a young scientist is caught improving Nexus, he’s thrust over his head into a world of danger and international espionage – for there is far more at stake than anyone realizes.”

So back to my original point, if you haven’t bought this book maybe you are a bit intimidated by it, I know I was. I wasn’t sure if everything would simply fly over the top of my head and leave me staring there asking myself what the hell just happened.

In truth it’s really not that difficult to follow at all and the writing all the way through the plot is fantastic. So if you were worried about this being some bizarre techno-babble-heresy-thriller, you don’t have to worry anymore.

My second fear? I was worried that since this book was so “Far-future and Technologically based” that it would be somewhat dull and action-less. This couldn’t be farther from the truth. Start to finish Nexus is a thrill ride taking our main character Kade into one unforgettable scene after another. Kade has a freaking Bruce Lee combat application that he can access at anytime and that is low grade stuff compared to some of the others.

Naam plays havoc with every character in this mind turning book, burning their lives down from the inside out. Very few books would I wish to see turn into a film adaptation but I think Nexus could rock the big screen and have a similar feel to the recent blockbuster Inception. If you are still on the edge about what I would consider a fantastic, action-packed psychological thrill ride of what might possibly be the not-so-distant future, then nothing I or anyone else can say will change your mind.

Nexus By Ramez Naam 9 out of 10 Liams, read it and witness a glimpse of what might be.

Tons of thanks as always to Angry Robot Publishing and Darren Turpin for feeding my AR Book addiction and providing me with this review copy.

Leave a Reply

