Christian Schoon: Under Nameless Stars Blog Tour

Posted: March 11, 2014 in The Troubled Scribe's Scribbles

Under Nameless Stars Tour Banner


  I’m thrilled to have Christian Schoon stop by the blog, because I have a serious question for him and Zenn Scarlett: What Difficulties did you have transitioning between writing Zenn Scarlet and Under Nameless Stars?

CS: Funny you should ask. Not funny like  😀  but funny like :/  Because you’ve hit on the part of crafting Under Nameless Stars that ended up being one of the more challenging/maddening/rewarding bits of authoring I dealt with in the year since Zenn Scarlett was published. The reason? The two average-length Zenn books were originally one near-epic-length book.

 When I was writing the original draft(s) of Zenn, I paid no attention to word count. I let the story take as many pages as it needed to be told. Is this optimal procedure for breaking into to the current publishing environment? Probably not. But that’s how this book worked its way onto the page. In any case, shortly after my agent Adam at DeFiore & Co. began showing the manuscript around, we came to the decision to split the story in two. I had no problem with this; plenty of characters/action/alien biology to go around.

 So, I put the hulk of the big, existing book on the operating table and brought out my little #15 scalpel blade and prepped for some delicate surgery. This phase didn’t last long. I quickly discovered that the tools I’d need for this procedure fell more into the class of bone saws and pneumatic rib-spreaders. 

 Like any author working on a sequel to any book, the main issue was ensuring that the new narrative arc of Under Nameless Stars continued the flow of book one to its logical climax, while still standing on its own. But as you might imagine, detaching a second book from a pre-existing story is a bit like separating conjoined twins; you spend a long time in the operating theater re-connecting the new entity’s veins and nerves, grafting bones, ensuring blood-flow to all major organs and then shocking the heart back to life and holding your breath as you wait to see if keeps beating.

 Ultimately, the great thing about this experience (other than hearing that heartbeat, and being able to sell two books instead of one…) was the chance to re-imagine the path to the conclusion of the two-book arc-within-an-arc, which led to the arrival of some new characters/sub-plots that didn’t turn up in the book’s first incarnation (Charlie, the chimp-like, tech-savvy Loepith and his simstriss A.I. stalker, Lu, for instance).  I don’t know about other authors, but for me, new faces suddenly peering out at me from inside my story-world are always welcome guests.

 And that’s the scoop on my transition-ing from the first book to Under Nameless Stars. Thanks from both Zenn and I for letting me drop by the blog. Keep on scribin’!

Need More Christian Schoon? Find Him Here: Website | Twitter | Strange Chemistry

Now For your chance to win a copy (ebook or physical – your choice!) of both Zenn Scarlett and Under Nameless Stars PLUS a Name Your Own Star Gift Package, simply answer the following question:

Question #2

What Angry Robot Books imprint is the publisher of Under Nameless Stars?
a. Strange Horizons
b. Strange Chemistry
c. Strange Formula
d. Strange Reactiong

Answer the question through Here: STRANGE CHEMISTRY or Here: Rafflecopter Giveaway

Read an Extract:

Read and Share via Issuu.com

Don’t Miss these stops along the way:

10 March: Strange Chemistry
11 March: Troubled Scribe
12 March: My Bookish Ways
13 March: On Starships & Dragonwings
14 March: YA On My Mind

17 March: Books, Bones & Buffy
18 March: Curiosity Killed the Bookworm
19 March: The AP Book Club
20 March: Supernatural Snark
21 March: This Is My World

24 March: A Dream Within A Dream
25 March: A Fantastical Librarian
26 March: Uncorked Thoughts
27 March: Working for the Mandroid
28 March: Tsana Reads

31 March: A Dream Within A Dream
1 April: Vicky Thinks

Comments
  1. […] March: Strange Chemistry 11 March: Troubled Scribe 12 March: My Bookish Ways 13 March: On Starships & Dragonwings 14 March: YA On My […]

Leave a Reply

